bird on a wire

Once in a while, I have a day where I’m pretty much useless. I’m completely drained of energy, I’m antisocial, and all I really want to do is lay in bed and do nothing. Today was that day. Well, most of it anyway.

After waking up at 10 am, making an easy breakfast (Eggs in a Basket–ask for the recipe if you want it. It takes all of ten minutes.), and watching my 3-DVD boxed set of Food Network’s “Feasting on Asphalt” miniseries, I went back to sleep for 45 minutes. Instead of the excitement I was expecting after finally finding out yesterday that I had a job in Chicago, I was totally exhausted. Michonne suggested that it was finally hitting me that I was leaving Fargo, a city I’d been trying to leave since I arrived. I’ve had some good experiences here, but knowing that new opportunities await me takes a little of the sting out of my departure.

After my second helping of leftover pizza, I decided to venture into the light.  I mailed a couple bills, went to Starbucks, and then drove to Barnes and Noble.  As I walked in the door, I noticed the current issue of Chicago Magazine on the rack, so I grabbed it. Inside was an article on 22 restaurants to try in Chicago (I’ll save that part for the food blog), which was enough of a reason for me to take the issue home.

When I arrived home, I sat down and started reading. There was an article in the business section that caught my eye, which was, of course, about a restaurant. It was an interview with Nick Kokonas, the business manager and co-owner of world-famous Michelin 3-star restaurant Alinea, located in Lincoln Park. As I read the article, I began to realize what kind of environment awaits me in Chicago.

Chicago is a world city. It’s a business nexus, a cultural center, a culinary hotbed, and a sports mecca. More than that, it’s the perfect city for somebody to have a second chance. I’ve delayed starting my life so I could entertain my wanderlust (and for other things) for too long, and while I realize that moving to a city as big and as fast-paced as Chicago can be hard, and even exhausting, I’m prepared for what lies ahead.

Domenico Estrada once wrote, “Bring the past only if you plan to build on it.” I’ve carried mine like a yoke for too many years. The time’s come to use what I’ve learned, to build the life I want.

Leave a Reply

